Appreciated Accepted WorthinessWhen I listened to one of the talks about addiction by Abraham-Hicks  the first time it brought tears to my eyes. In the talk the addiction is the condition society focuses on.

The ‘Uncondition’ would be:

  • Acceptance
  • Love
  • Worthiness
  • Allrightness
  • Acknowledgement
  • Mattering
  • Important
  • Relevant
  • Known
  • Seen
  • Heard
  • Whole
  • Good
  • Realised
  • Loved
  • Appreciated
  • Real

I realised that I missed out on so many of the ‘Unconditions’.
It was good to understand where my tendency to addictions came from.
Even though I did manage to let go of the addictions I know that it would not take much for me to … you know.

Alcohol has been one in the past and I was lucky that I just couldn’t cope with the violent reactions of my body.
If I would be offered alcohol now, it wouldn’t be easy for me to turn down the second (fatal) glass of wine.

Since I have been blogging regularly I seem to be losing my interest in playing a game as much as I did before.
Having said that; it was not easy, when I could not connect to the internet this morning. I felt anxious because I could not play the game.
Fortunately I managed by creating a word image with gimp and by writing this post.

Knowing that the underlying needs were acceptance, love, feeling appreciated etc, etc, helps me to be more compassionate with my past behaviour.

The article Why Social Isolation Leads to Inflammation explained a lot for me to and it made me sad, because I feel ‘disabled’ socially. I have this inner conflict about wanting to belong and wanting solitude.
I grew up very isolated and had not been ‘socialized’.
My mother lived very isolated, not trusting anyone.
I understand why she was that way and why I am the way I am around people.

Accepting myself even though I have this condition is the first step on the (what seems to be a long) journey to making changes.

The Video below is a great sketch illustration on the connection between connection etc. and addiction.

“Darkness does not exist when light shines on it.”

Of course, there is so much more that could be (and has been) written on this subject.



 

