Pause is defined as:
stop
ceasehaltdiscontinue, break off, take a break, take a breath

Tara Brach (and many others) suggests to pause regularly, to focus on the breath, and/or be mindful of what we feel in our body.

I don’t find it easy to pause, meditate. I just want escape, flee, run away.
I feel restlessness, anxiety and fear. It is as if the alarm is on, ‘danger, danger’. Some of the times I can pause and respond instead of react.

Tara says in her talks on ‘Pause’:

“The pause creates a space were the light can come through”.

“The more we have had trauma in our life, the harder it is to feel the life of the body. And the more we are in a culture that’s a traumatizing culture, the harder it is.”

“What’s between me and being at home in my body this moment?”

“We are programmed to be ‘doers’.” Much of that ‘doing’ is driven by our primitive brain; ‘something is wrong, I need to do something so I am ready for what’s around the corner; something is missing, I need to do something to make sure that I get it” “The doing at least gives us a sense of controlling things”

More by Tara Brach about ‘Pause’.  i.e.: Articles, Meditations and Talks

I feel restlessness, anxiety and fear. It is as if the alarm is on, ‘danger, danger’.

A 20 second Pause is all that is needed at (regular) times.


Image Credit: Yorinda Wanner

